Scholarships allow Beck and Lee to pursue their dreams

March 19, 2024


At left, 2024 New Century Workforce Pathway Scholar recipient Megan Beck gets instruction from UNM-Taos Construction Technology Program Coordinator Mark Goldman. (Photo by Enrico Trujillo) At right, 2024 Coca-Cola Academic Team Bronze Scholar award-winner Colman Lee. (Courtesy photo)


Our campus recently received news that two of our students have been awarded national scholarships. 

Megan Beck was selected as a 2024 New Century Workforce Pathway Scholar. This scholarship program is sponsored by the Coca-Cola Foundation, with additional support provided by Phi Theta Kappa. More than 2,200 applications were received and evaluated on academic achievement, leadership, service, and significant endeavors. Megan received the highest score in New Mexico. 

As a New Century Workforce Pathway Scholar, she will receive a $1,500 scholarship and be recognized during the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) Leadership Congress, held from October 23–26, in Seattle, Washington. 

This scholarship is the first of its kind to support students at associate degree-granting institutions, on a national scale, as they plan to enter the workforce upon completing a degree or certificate. 

Megan studied construction technology and is in Arizona about to start a two-week construction job with other Taoseños. Using her UNM-Taos education, she is connecting natural-builders with professional skills. 

In addition, Megan is involved with a group creating innovative, affordable domed housing for staff at the Vermijo Ranch (Ted Turner Ranch) and at the Pine Ridge Lakota Sioux Reservation in South Dakota. 

Fellow Taos Lobo Colman Lee has been selected as a 2024 Coca-Cola Academic Team Bronze Scholar and will receive a $1,000 scholarship. 

Selection as a Coca-Cola Bronze Scholar was based on scores he earned in the All-USA Academic Team competition, for which more than 2,200 applications were received this year. 

This program is sponsored by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation and is administered by Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. Students are nominated for the academic team by their college administrators. Selection is based on academic achievement, leadership, and engagement in college and community service. 

Colman is currently a Natural Resources Management Program student and will be transferring to New Mexico Highlands University this fall to study Environmental Geology. 

“I hope to get involved with watershed restoration work,” he said. 

Coca-Cola Academic Team members will be recognized in both local and statewide ceremonies. They will also be recognized internationally during Phi Theta Kappa’s annual convention, PTK Catalyst, in Orlando, Florida, April 4-6.