Phi Theta Kappa

The Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor society recognizes students for their academic excellence in the classroom and their effort to maintain a 3.5 GPA or higher.

Phi Theta Kappa traces its beginnings to a society that originated with six charter members under the name of Kappa Phi Omicron at Stephens College in Columbia, Missouri, in 1910. The Society continued to grow and in the spring of 1918 was one of many honorary groups in Missouri.

At a meeting of the presidents of the Missouri junior colleges for women in 1918, it was decided to organize a new honorary society, chapters of which would have a common character, stand and similarity of organization. The name Phi Theta Kappa was chosen, and the society was incorporated in Missouri as a national organization. Founders modeled many aspects of the new Society after the prestigious senior college honorary society, Phi Beta Kappa.