Student Government


Listed top left to bottom right: Josh Lund, Kayl Rainer, Gabriela Rosales, Fayth Cardenas, Laura Neubert, Peggy De'scoville

The UNM-Taos Student Government performs with integrity, honesty, trust and inclusiveness.

Our mission is to encourage and support student participation, to advocate and lobby on behalf of students, to facilitate alternative dispute resolution and to ensure individual and collective student rights. We intend to build constructive relationships among faculty, staff, students and our community.

Student Government 2020-2021

Josh Lund President

Kayl Rainer Vice-President

Gabriela Rosales Secretary

Peggy De'scoville Treasurer

Fayth Cardenas Senator

Laura Neubert Senator


UNMTSG provides funding for initiatives on campus that will benefit all students.

Some examples of initiatives funded include security cameras and a library fundraiser. If you have a project you would like to fund, you may download the form and bring your proposal to an open meeting. You may also contact us with questions at

Request For Funding Form  

Can I attend meetings?

Yes, meetings are open to the public. Each meeting has an open forum in the beginning where you can present your ideas or concerns.

How do I join?

Student government elections are held in the fall. Students currently taking 6 credit hours and a 2.5 GPA are welcome to apply. You may contact us at UNMTSG to find out more.


Attend a meeting.

Meetings are held once a month. 

Join student government

Email us to discover more about the process of joining student government.

We are happy to hear from you.



Student Government

Padre Martinez Hall

1157 County Road 110

Ranchos de Taos, NM 87557

Phone: 575.737.3774

Fax: 575.737.3680